top of page

A Bit About Us

Working Towards a Better Tomorrow

ESIO has been founded by Ophthalmologists involved in International Ophthalmology. We see our role in offering a platform for networking, in exchanging information and being at the forefront of education. We can count on numerous experts and their knowledge in any area of International Ophthalmology.

About: About Us

Meet the Team

Officers of ESIO


PD Andréas Kreis, MD

President (ad interim)
Core Group Member

Ophthalmologist with special interest in trachoma surgery. Longterm experience in Timor Leste and Mali

Tim .jpg

Dr Tim Westland, MD

Core Group Member

Ophthalmogist. Longterm Experience in Ghana


Dr Martina Kropp, PhD

Core Group Member

Biologist and Research Expert


PD Markus Schulze-Schwering

Core Group Member

Ophthalmologist. Longterm Experience in Malawi and Tanzania


Stefan Egli

Director of IT

IT Expert with interest for meteorology

About: Meet the Team

History, Founding Members & Special Advisors

The idea of a European Society for International Ophthalmology has been spinning around for a while. After several conferences all over Europe a core founding comitee met in 2019 and placed the first brick of this construct.

Ophthalmologists and Experts in International Ophthalmology:

Prof Nitin Verma, Prof Serge Resnikoff, Prof Martin Spitzer, PD Marcus Schulze-Schwering, PD Andréas Kreis

Special Advisors:

PD Dr Beat Stoll, MD

Institute of Global Health, University of Geneva, Switzerland

Doctor, Visionary and Sine Qua Non

About: Who We Are

ESIO Constitutionals

Article 1. Name

The Society shall be called the European Society for Inetrantional Ophthalmology (E.S.I.O.).

Article 2. Aims

The aims of this Society are to:

  1.  Advance education, research and the quality of clinical practice in the area of ophthalmology known as International Ophthalmology. This field comprises any facet of ophthalmology in emerging economies and low income settings.

  2. Provide an opportunity for meeting of Members on a social basis.

These aims will be achieved by means of regular meetings, lectures, publications, web-site and any other way deemed appropriate by the Committee.

Article 3. Membership

3.1. The Members of the Society will be categorised as follows: Full member, Associate member, Honorary member and Trainee member.

Article 4. Officers

4.1. The Officers of E.S.I.O shall be the President, Executive Secretary, Treasurer, Meeting Secretary plus either the President Elect or the Past President. The terms of office of the President Elect and the Past President do not coincide.

About: About

Membership Overview

Join Now: ESIO has 5 Memberships

Full Members

Consultant Ophthalmologists with a significant  involvement and interest in International Ophthalmology, who are committed to the practice, research and teaching in the field of International Ophthalmology; who have evidence of this through their clinical practice, research, publications, presentations and teaching, which satisfies the Membership Advisory Committee and the Executive Committee. Full membership is applicable to accredited Swiss, European and UK Ophthalmologists. Membership guidelines are available from the Secretary. Full Members have voting rights.

Associate Members

Accredited Ophthalmologists who are primarily based in countries outside Switzerland, the EU and the UK and whose main employment is outside Switzerland, the EU and the UK


experienced and professional Eye Care Specialists in the field of International Ophthalmology of any country. Associate Members have no voting rights.

Honorary Members

Honour bestowed upon a retired longstanding ESIO member (minimum 10 years) or an allied professional who has provided significant support to the Society, or made a major contribution to the sub-specialty.
Benefits: no membership fee and no voting rights.
Potential candidates will be proposed by Executive Committee, circulated to members and presented for ratification at the AGM.
Honorary members pay for attending annual meetings.

Trainee Members

Trainee ophthalmologists and eye care workers with a demonstrable commitment to International Ophthalmology. This type of membership will expire following substantive appointment, as Consultant Ophthalmologists and Professional Eye Care Workers are not eligible. No voting rights.

Special Interest Members

Anyone who does not fit the above Memebership criterias but has a special interest in International Ophthalmology. 
Benefits: no voting rights and a reduced membership fee. Members pay for attending the meeting.

About: Get Involved

Sponsorship is required for membership. This should be from two existing Members of ESIO. In the absence of a sponsor, the applicant may be admitted after being contacted by two members nominated by the Executive Committee who shall determine the applicants bone fide status.


The annual subscription for members is TBC, payable by credit card, covering January to December, renewed each year on 1st January. It does not matter when your subscription payment is initially paid and setup, as it will be automatically renewed each year during January. (eg if you setup your first subscription payment in July 2013, that payment will cover the period from January 2013 to December 2013, and the next payment will be made in January 2014 to cover the period up to the end of december 2014).

Associate, Trainee and Special Interest Members pay a discounted subscription: TBC.

You must, however, be logged in on this website. To login, enter your username and password (bottom of the page) and return to this page

  • If you have received your username and password, but you have forgotten it, you can retrieve it on this page.

  • Contact us if you still cannot login after performing the above steps.        

Benefits of membership

  • Membership of a prestigious society

  • Discounted registration for the annual scientific meeting

  • Voting rights at the Annual General Meeting and for committee member elections (Full Members only)

  • Eligibility for election to the Committee (Full Members only)

  • Access to Case discussion forum

Policy for lapsed members to be reinstated

0-4 years absence; Annual subscription and a one-off payment to rejoin of 1 year’s subscription at the current rate.

5-10 years absence; Annual subscription and one-off payment of 2 years’ subscription. In addition, the member needs to resubmit their CV for the Membership Advisory Committee’s approval.

You can pay these fees TBC.

You can login if you have your account details, or you can create a new account.

Please email your CV to

About: Text
bottom of page